Area Individuals Appointed To State Boards And Commissions
By: Mike Stiles - Saturday, November 25, 2023

(photo courtesy of State of Michigan)

(LANSING) – Some Southwest Michigan residents have been appointed or re-appointed to state boards and commissions.

Sara Trattles of Colon has been named to the Michigan Soybean Committee. She is a Vice President of Agribusiness Lending at GreenStone Farm Credit Services. Trattles grows 450 acres of soybeans, as well as corn, seed corn, and alfalfa on her farm. Trattles is appointed to represent District 1 for a term to run until September 23, 2026.

Brian Preston of Quincy and Carol Marz-Evans of Litchfield, had both been appointed to the Michigan Craft Beverage Council. Preston is a member with Preston Dairy, LLC. In addition to his family’s farming business, Preston is heavily involved in the Michigan Milk Producers Association, serving as their Local and District Chair.

Evans is the Manager of Evans Dairy Farm. Prior to that she was the quality assurance manager at ConAgra Foods. Evans is a member of the Michigan Shorthorn Breeders Association and the Hillsdale County Dairy Promotion Board.

Their terms will run from January 1, 2024 until December 31, 2026.

Linda Preston of Dowagiac has been chosen to sit on the State Boundary Committee. Preston is the Township Supervisor for Pokagon Township in Cass County. She has worked for the Township for nearly 40 years.

Preston has been re-appointed for a term to run until November 14, 2026.

Scott Hassle of Decatur has been re-appointed to the Michigan Asparagus Marketing Advisory Board. He is responsible for asparagus production on his family’s large fruit, vegetable and grain operation. Hassle has extensive agricultural board experience on both the Michigan Apple Committee and the Michigan State Horticultural Society.

His term runs until November 13, 2026.

All of the appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Michigan Senate.


>> News Archive