Mendon leaving for SCAA, Lawrence joining SW 10
By: Mike Stiles - Thursday, June 30, 2022

(photo courtesy of Mendon Schools)

(UNDATED) – Some changes are coming to the Southwest Conference. Beginning with the 2022-2023 season, Lawrence will be joining the conference, and leaving the BCS Athletic Conference. That means for the upcoming school year, the Southwest 10 will consist of Mendon, Centreville, White Pigeon, Marcellus, Bangor, Bloomingdale, Cassopolis, Comstock, Decatur, Hartford and Lawrence. Following the completion of the 2022-2023 school year, Mendon will leave and join the SCAA. This move is prompted by Mendon’s enrollment being down from previous years, and with the Hornet football team moving to 8 man competition. The SCAA is made up of Colon, Burr Oak, Climax-Scotts, Athens, Pittsford and Adrian Lenawee Christian.